Your Ally In
Workplace Justice

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Workplace Discrimination
  4.  » 4 kinds of workplace discrimination

4 kinds of workplace discrimination

On Behalf of | Mar 2, 2023 | Workplace Discrimination

As an employee, you have a right to a safe work environment that prohibits workplace discrimination and harassment. However, it isn’t always easy to spot when someone is a victim of discriminatory actions.

To ensure you or a coworker isn’t a target of a harasser, you may want to consider the following forms of workplace discrimination:

1. Age

People of all ages need employment. But, in some cases, a person’s age may be the cause of discrimination. Following the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA), anyone over 40 who experiences discrimination based on their age can take legal action. This could happen, for example, if someone only hires young workers despite older workers’ credentials.

2. Sex, sexual orientation, sexual identity 

Another form of discrimination is against someone’s gender, sexual orientation or sexual identity. In other words, employment laws protect people who are attracted to opposite or same genders and someone who identifies as transgender.

3. Disability

Under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), anyone with a disability has a right to employment. 

4. Religion

In the United States, millions of people have religious beliefs. Because of this, unfair treatment of someone’s religion is prohibited in the workplace. Legally, employers may even have to make “reasonable accommodations” for the practice of religious beliefs. 

There are twelve protected characteristics set out under the law on which discrimination people may experience at work becomes illegal. All of them could harm their quality of life and work. Understanding your legal rights when faced with discrimination can help you take the necessary steps to feel safe again.